The Big Bad Shawl

Since I have been knitting, I have made hats, scarves, a blanket, sweaters, socks and somehow, there was this one garment I was afraid to knit as I always imagined it as an extremely difficult item for which you would need expert skills for achieving those intricate lace motifs. On the other hand, all the process of blocking seemed complicated as well. Yes, the Big Bad Shawl!

After viewing more and more beautiful shawls everywhere on my favorite websites and podcasts I decided it was time for me to give it a try.

I found the perfect pattern for me to begin with on Ravelry (where else?!), it is called the Sunlight Shawl for Sad People by Softsweater (in addition, I love the name!). Both simple and visual, it is a triangle construction worked with purl, knit and yarn over stitches.

After a bit of stash diving, I selected a variegated brown yarn from the brand Katia called Darling. Color code is 203, it goes from light beige to black with different shades of brown. Needles are Prym metallic circular needles 3 mm with a 80 cm cable.

It is still in progress and so far I am really enjoying it. I used 1 ball and I am currently knitting the 2nd one. I hope to finish this project before the end of May. I will keep you updated soon!

Shawl #1

Leave a Reply

