Work in Progress : Harvest Cardigan

Hey there! Here is an update on what is currently on my needles.

I just have one WIP this week, it is the Harvest Cardigan by Tin Can Knits (free on Ravelry). This will be for my 9 years old, she is growing so fast that a new cardigan is not an option, lol. This is also the perfect opportunity for me to knit my first cardigan. The Harvest Cardigan is a piece of the Simple Collection that includes 8 basic patterns of hat, sweater, mittens, cardigan, socks, etc…All for free and with amazing step by step instructions. The chart with the detailed sizing (measurements of  chest, sleeve, hem to underarm, upper arm for each size) is really helpful in order to choose the right size. For example, even if she is 9, I picked the 6-8 yrs pattern as a basis for this project, since the size of chest and upper arm in the 6-8 yrs pattern matches her size, however, I will just add some rows to the sleeves and body so they are long enough for her.

Harvest Cardigan #1

What about the yarn? While I was looking for a new project after I finished my Campside Shawl, I dived into my stash and decided I would start using the 2 gigantic hanks of Forest Green yarn that were waiting there. Gigantic meaning 454g per hank!!! How crazy!!! I bought them on sale at Michael’s a while ago, it is 100% acrylic and has no name and I just fell in love with the gorgeous deep green color. I am knitting it on 4mm circular needles. So far I am almost half way through the body and it is knitting fast with a great stitch definition.

Harvest Cardigan #2

To celebrate this new project I made myself a new set of stitch markers. It’s Tea time:-)

Teatime stitch marker

Happy knitting and see you next week ^_^

4 thoughts on “Work in Progress : Harvest Cardigan

Leave a Reply

