Hello Sunshine Award!

One can’t have too many awards, right? I have recently been nominated for a Sunshine Award by the lovely Hannah from Unsophisticated + jejune. Last month, I received the Liebster Award from Yarns, Books and Roses. Liebster Award is an award given to blogs featuring interesting articles with a small readership whereas the Sunshine Award is for positive, creative and/or inspiring blogs. I sincerely feel honoured and grateful for both of them.

Sunshine award #2

As a Sunshine Award winner, I was asked by Hannah a few questions. Here are my answers :

  1. How do you source your materials? Favourite craft shop, ebay, esty? Steal it?

So far, I have been purchasing my material mostly from my favorite craft shops. Back in France, I used to shop to 3 different places : two of them were specialized chain stores called respectively Bergère de France and Phildar and the third one was a multi-brand craft store called Déclic. I especially liked the one I mentioned last and I loved them even more when they decided to move just across the street from my work place. I loved my job but it made me even happier to go to work when I knew I could pay a visit to the store on my lunch break 🙂 Regarding the places I go to to buy yarn in Montréal, for the finest ones, I still go to specialized yarn shops (La Maison Tricotée and Mouliné), for acrylic ones or less expensive ones I go to Michaels. I keep an eye on Etsy but somehow I need to check the material by myself before actually buying it, color, quality,etc..however, I am sure I will give it a try sooner or later.

  2. Are you a confident public crafter? Do you knit on trains, quilt in the park, etc?

I do knit in public, and find it life-saving when I know that I will have to wait a lot. In fact, instead of hating those moments when you fall in a different space-time, I am looking forward to make some progress on my knitting projects and waiting is not a problem anymore, anywhere : to the doctor, during the kids’ swimming lessons, in the park,…

3. What is your learning process? Do you go one step at a time, or do you push yourself to learn more techniques on every project?

I try to learn one step at a time as I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself, I have a job for that, lol. However, I do like to go outside of my comfort zone to discover new techniques. For example, I always knit my socks Cuff Down with a classic Heel Flap and one of my goals is to try the Toe Up method, different heels, different toes, so much to discover and only 24hrs a day!

Now, I would like to give a Sunshine Award to the following blogs that I particularly enjoy reading for their positivity and their creativity :

As an award winner, you can copy the Sunshine Award on your blog and you are welcome to answer 3 of the following questions I have selected for you (knitting and non-knitting related) :

  1. What is the next yarn or crafting item going to your stash?
  2. What was your last travel?
  3. What is your favorite pattern or who is your favorite pattern designer?
  4. What is your favorite season?
  5. What are your favourite knitting needles or crochets made of : wood, plastic, metal,…?
  6. What book(s) are you reading?

If you wish, it is your turn to give the Sunshine Award to bloggers who inspire you!

Thanks for reading 🙂

3 thoughts on “Hello Sunshine Award!

  1. Hello! What a great response, thankyou for taking the time to answering my questions! I know what you mean about having to feel stuff up before you commit. I general buy from shops too, unless I know what i am getting!
    Can’t wait to hear from you more! Hannah x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

