Works in Progress : Crocheted Hat and Pink Shawl

Hi Everyone! I am currently working on two projects. One is completely new and the other is a long-forgotten WIP.

Let’s start with my new project which is a Crocheted Hat I am making for a friend of mine. I actually already made a similar hat for her last winter out of pure wool but it was accidentally destroyed in the dryer while trapped in another garment, ouch… She asked me if I could make her a new one as she used to get so many compliments with the first one. No way I could refuse 🙂

Crocheted hat #1

So far, it looks more like a mug rug, lol. This time, I picked a yarn which is machine washable and dryable (just in case…) : Bernat Premium in Black. Composition is 100% Acrylic, and it is a worsted weight yarn. To meet the gauge I am crocheting with a 7mm crochet. The pattern is from a booklet I received in a kit I purchased in France. The company is called Chouette Kit and they do crafting kits with multiple projects including knitting, crocheting, sewing, and a lot of fun ideas. Basically, the hat is crocheted in the round in double-crochet stitch from the top to the bottom with increases to create the volume. Here is a photo of the one I crocheted for myself a while ago with the material from my kit.

Crocheted hat #0

Second WIP is my Pink Shawl which I started more than a year ago…I put it aside last February when I realized that I was not knitting fast enough to have it finished before Winter ends. The good thing is that now that I am getting back to this project, I find it not as tedious as it was in my memories, so I guess I got more confident with my knitting during the past months! The pattern is from Phildar magazine #107, pattern#15. Here is the picture from the magazine.

Pink shawl #0

I used a drastically different yarn to knit mine. The yarn is from my stash and was given to me by a dear friend who bought it in Russia. It is Alize Angora Gold in a gradient colorway with white, grey, black and pink tones. Composition is 80% Acrylic, 10% Mohair and 10% Wool. In each ball, there are 100g (3,53 oz) and 550m (601 yds). I decided to double the yarn for a squishy result and I am knitting on my 5mm (US 8) KnitPro circular needles. The texture is really interesting with kind of wavy bubbles. I am curious to see how this will look like when it is blocked!

Pink shawl #2

Happy knitting ^_^

3 thoughts on “Works in Progress : Crocheted Hat and Pink Shawl

Leave a Reply

