Work in Progress : Toe-Up Blueberry Waffle Socks

I recently came across a very nice tutorial video showing how to knit Toe-Up socks and decided to give it a try. You can find it on the Knitting is Awesome blog in this article. Lauren, the author, goes through the 3 main techniques used in her Toe-Up Socks method : Judy’s Magic Cast On, Increasing for the Toe and a Short-Row Heel.

The video is really great! The Cast On method is surprisingly simple. I cast on 32 stitches and increased every other row until I reached a 60 stitches count to fit my foot. I like some texture on my socks when the color is solid or semi solid so I chose to use the pattern of the Blueberry Waffle Socks by Sandy Turner which is a free pattern on Ravelry. The pattern is easy to memorize and gives some rhythm to the knitting process.

The yarn is Julie Asselin ”Piccolo”, a 80% Merino / 20% Nylon fingering yarn. I am using my 2,5 mm circular needles. I completely fell in love with this color called Opera, all these shades of pink, mauve and brown are just gorgeous 🙂

Toe Up Socks Julie Asselin #1

Toe Up Socks Julie Asselin #2

Thanks for reading and Happy Knitting 😉

8 thoughts on “Work in Progress : Toe-Up Blueberry Waffle Socks

Leave a Reply

