August 16 : Cross stitch FFO – Mill Hill Gingerbread Cottage kit

Hello!

How was your summer? Mine has been amazing so far : great weather, fun activities with family, (a lot of) good food, (a bit of) sport…and a few hours of cross stitch! I have been mainly working on one WIP which is now a fully finished object!

CROSS STITCHING

FFO

Gingerbread Cottage – Mill Hill (Winter Holiday Collection)

My first Mill Hill kit is now completed! Very happy with the final result. It was my first time stitching on perforated paper and it was fine though I prefer to stitch on fabric. This was also my first time beading and I REALLY enjoyed this part, it gives a nice 3 dimensional effect and some sparkle to the final piece. Beading was made easier thanks to my Tacky Bob. The kit came with a magnet, however, I chose to turn the piece into a Christmas ornament by adding a string decorated with beads to be able to put it up in the Christmas tree. For the backing, I went for a piece of felt fabric in a neutral caramel color. The hardest part, in my opinion, is to cut the paper into the shape of the design once it is all stitched and beaded. Indeed the paper is quite thick so you want to put enough pressure to actually cut the paper but not too much so you don’t cut a section that is not supposed to be cut.

Overall, I liked a lot this project. The kit comes with everything you need to complete the project and it is quite affordable (about US$7). It stitches up quite fast allowing you to have a finished object rapidly which is always satisfying and kind of a booster to finish other projects. All the beads make me happy and the design is super cute 🙂

 

PSX_20160702_193503
Gingerbread Cottage – July 2nd, 2016
PSX_20160818_192654
Gingerbread Cottage – August 18th, 2016
PSX_20160818_192735
Gingerbread Cottage FFO Back view

Happy Stitching!!!

Leave a Reply

